consciousness, dog dogparenting

Puppy Love

We got a Akita/ Pit Bull puppy almost three weeks ago. We got him at almost nine weeks. He was from a litter of twelve puppies. Our friend had the litter and needed a lot of homes. He was one of the last pups adopted. I thought I wanted his sister but fell for him instead.

Atari is now twelve weeks old, he is teething insanely! My arms, legs, feet, ankles all have bite marks. It hurts really bad when he gets a good grip on the skin. It’s a constant to be armed with bully sticks to put in his teeth when he is biting or a stuffed animal. I believe we have purchased every kind of toy material you can buy to replace chewing on wood, soft materials, sticks,leather. Atari prefers the real thing no matter what toy he has. We live on three acres so keeping sticks out of this dogs mouth is full time. I have a lord of the rings stick I walk with, he bites at the bottom of the stick instead of my ankle.

Why Atari? That’s what I get asked frequently about his name. Atari was the gaming system when I grew up. Pong was a game with dots on Atari. Atari in Japanese means good fortune. Akita is Japanese. He has short hair and body style of Pit Bull but has Akita ears, nose and tail.

He thankfully is food driven. Treats are what this dog lives for, a total God sent. Training him has been so much easier due to his love of food. He is in doggie school. He is so smart, obedient and so loving!

We live in California, it is super hot right now. I put out frozen towels and ice water for him if we are spending time outside. My boyfriend says I’m turning him into a bougie dog, I call it nurturing.

I’m in love! His favorite place to lounge is the leather couch. He does not like being hot. It works out because his dad loves the couch too!

Standard

Leave a comment