flower, friendship, healing, suicide survivor

It hits the spot

I hear my dad’s booming voice, ” That hit the spot”, after eating a meal my mother had prepared for us, rubbing his protruding beer belly in satisfaction. Now that my dad is gone in person, my memory echoes these events that embedded the value of food and the ability for it to somehow fill something inside of us.

Yesterday, I visited my friend who found himself in a hospital after he was hit on his motorcycle, Friday afternoon. He has several broken ribs and his collarbone is broken and he has some head fractures but he will thankfully heal. I was thinking to myself, what do I bring to him to make him feel better? Hospital food is the worst, most of the time they have you so drugged up, candy is the most amazing thing you have ever tasted. I called him and asked him what he felt like eating because I have so much empathy for people who feel like shit and have to eat bad food. He said he trusted me to get him something awesome and healthy. I decided to go to whole foods, it reminds me of living in Europe and having fresh flowers,fruit, meat/fish, deli,bakery and fresh foods not in the open air but in one building. They have a juice bar so I got him a green juice with kale,apple, ginger and spinach with a shot of spirulina, which is the greatest superfood ever for immune support. Their salad bar is the most amazing thing ever so I got him that with a croissant and cream cheese that is made with half cow, half goat cheese and a chocolate bar. They carry the most amazing flowers and have mini bouquets that are really awesome so I got him one of those too. It is a custom in Europe when you visit a friend you bring wine or fresh flowers or food.

IMG_20150528_001602IMG_20150508_064242

As I was walking out of the hospital I was thinking of my dad and how these little things we do to affect others ,hits the spot.  Life isn’t worth living to me if I don’t feel like I am giving back to the universe . Last night my friend texted me and said, “Everything you brought today was right on point for flavor. none has ever done that before. I am amazed and thankful. Please know you can bring me food anytime.” That is such a great feeling to know you made someones day better. He is a great friend to me too, when I found myself in a dark place last fall he came and helped me with my business, home and gave me some words of comfort during that time. It is the little things in life. Food being the catalyst; it hits the spot of friendship, connection and empathy of being a human.

There are many days I spend after my dad took his life over a year ago, in thought of all things he taught me, I wish I could tell him. I recently went to a funeral and my father was mentioned there, he affected people and me positively. I just wish he knew the impact he had on other people. That is the bummer of death. However, I think I am learning to just pass down what my dad taught me and let his legacy live that way and not in regret of my unspoken words.

Namaste

Standard

Leave a comment