Uncategorized

Generational awesomeness

My mom is going on her ninth week living with me since her accident and my father’s suicide.  She is fully healed from her injuries,  thank God!
She brought a photo album that we just went through together of her family line. I am blown away at how well preserved these photographs look.

image

Allen was my grandmother phoebe’s brother, an attorney and the first person to do my mother’s side of the original family tree.

image

image

image

image

My great grandmother Lydia and my great grandfather Edgar were both physicians, they shared a practice in their home. Lydia was one of the first female doctors graduating in 1890 from medical school. I found out I come from a long line of women who have been active in women’s rights. I believe Lydia was a trail blazer for this quality that remains a very strong value in our family to have very strong females advocating a voice for women.

image

image

image

Grandma phoebe was the daughter of these two physicians, who was struck with polio at age 2 ,became well known for her art after studying in Paris in her twenties. Her spare time was spent teaching girls art for free. She became known for her paintings and jewelry, which I have most of them in my possession.  I believe my artsy side came from her.

image

This is my grandfather Stan, he developed one of the first televisions. He was gifted in the cranial iq department. Unfortunately he had a mental breakdown at 45. My mother was very close to him until that point. She very much took his intelligence gene.

image

image

My grandparents, mom and uncle at the beach in California,1953

My mom has continued her part in the women’s right movement through a group B.P.O.E most of her life. They raise money to fund scholarships to females in need. It makes me so proud to know that all these strong women in my family have made such an  impact for equal rights for women.
I definitely relate to the strong women part. I do instill respect for women in my son. He has to open doors, pull out chairs, for at least me, if not his sisters. It seems to me there is a lost art of how to be a respectful gentleman. As far as my girls go there is no doubt I have instilled an ability to have a strong voice, an ability to use boundaries with people, and a standard for how you should be treated.  Not that it looks perfect and we learn all the time through each experience we are having. I am sick of the societal standards for women, but if we don’t want to be victims, the voice of the females needs to rise. The constant degradation of women on music videos being worn as naked scarves and displayed as objects and not humans disgusts me. In my experience knowing women who let men treat them that way have a history of abuse. They were never given respect so it becomes a need to fill a daddy hole no matter the consequences.
I was a single mom to my oldest daughter born when I was 18, for five years.  My daughter will now be a single mother too. I am proud of her for walking away from a dysfunctional person who only care about his relationship with alcohol at this point in his life, she chooses to stay completely away from all his drama. My daughter has never met her biological father to this day. She has had some contact through e-mail. She choose to not continue that communication as it was disappointing and pointless.  I think it has heavily impacted her decision to have Copeland and do it alone because she sees how screwed up her biological dad is still today and she has for us support.  We are soooo excited to meet Copeland.  I know her mom will pass on the female strength for sure. 🙂

Namaste ♡

Standard

Leave a Reply

