Uncategorized

This is 40 in the light of reality

Forty is the new twenty, right? That is what I have heard. I don’t repeat that saying, I just hear or read it a lot. I will have a daughter who turns twenty two and she is having my first grand baby at the end of August , I know I am not twenty! In my mind, body or spirit. My own life experiences and maturity have made me who I am today, that process really started in my twenties.

image

Halle Berry age 47

That does not make me upset at all! I LOVE being forty, all 38 days of it, so far! My daughter eight months pregnant looks better than me. She currently has no stretch marks, saggy boobs, spider veins or wrinkles. The process of pregnancy is not complete but the point is she has younger, thicker more supple skin. So does my fully grown 15 year old daughter, who has a booty that knows no gravational pull.  They are both gorgeous in a youthful way.

image

Jennifer Aniston age 45

‘ I’ll be there for you’. Remember the ‘Rachel friends haircut ‘that hit during the mid 90’s? Every hairdresser could do that cut blindfolded and the George Clooney ceaser cut. Ugh, thank god we’ve moved on. Friends aired in 1994 when Jennifer Aniston was only 25 years old. She is hot still at 45!

image

Me at 40! Ha!

This is me. This is the longest my hair has been since I was a child. I love my hair ( it is all mine, no extensions) four years of painful growth, I feel so sexy and confident with it, even when I tell people the length of my hair varies on the bra choosen for the day, ha, you will get that joke if you have given birth. I never understood women who were so attached to their hair, I get it !! Bangs cover a multitude of sins and make you look younger. True, true, true. I have never had botox or plastic surgery of any kind. Not that I don’t want it. I just know my I would end up on a plastic surgery gone wrong show. My body is not into foreign objects.  I have done microderm abrasion treatments, peels, and facials since I was 26 years old. I have used quality facial products on my skin since 18 years old ,as that is when I got into the beauty industry and was instructed,’ to take care of my skin! ‘

image

“Is my hair inappropriately long for my age?” The question I am asked frequently by my middle aged female clients. There is no rules to length with age any longer. Now if you are picturing or visualizing a middle aged woman all  grey, one length, to the butt in length, with see through ends, that is not what I am talking about. That women needs to be on’ what not to wear’ and possibly therapy for not being able to let go of the length.
Your length is not a problem if you have layers and style. It is a problem for most women to wear one length long hair as it draws all attention downward and promotes the appearance of drooping.  Also what looked great on you in your twenties will not look the same in your forties.  Tweeking what you had  and consider flattering lengths for your face and body shape. You cannot simply cut the head off a human and only work with that. The height, weight, face shape and choosen features all come into play with what works for each individual client.  How much product are you willing to use to make your hair look great whither treatment for dry hair, daily styling and overall health and appearance of your hair?  These are all the questions that need to be talked about with your stylist.

image

Picking the correct make up is essential as you reach middle age. Less is more! There are many companies ‘Bobbi Brown’ and ‘Bare Essentials’ make up lines built for middle aged women seeking the right look for their age. I personally use mac makeup and find it works great with my middle aged coverage needs.

image

Facial products are also vital in the appearance of youthful looking skin. As you age there is a need for anti aging products. Your estitician or dermatologist should be able to recommend a daily regimen for your skin needs. Facial treatments are necessary for more youthful looking skin and relaxing for your senses and stresses.
If you want something holistic,  there have never been more products available, ‘Origins’ is one. I use this line.
If you want medical grade,’ MD FORTE’ has strong scylicylic acid to knock out wrinkles, Retin A cream is awesome! I use these products as well.

image

Whoa! Do men like this look? If they do I am thinking they want to have intercourse with her lips? Yuck, not into it all! I think she looks like a fish to me. Which I love to eat but not look at.
I am not against botox, it just has been found in the brain stem. That is nowhere near the middle of my eyebrows, where I make that evil look that embedded a wrinkle permanently.  I also think it is strange when people don’t have expressions when they talk or smile. Whatever, do what makes you happy. I recommend less is more.

image

Spices are essential for anti inflammation.  As we age inflammation is a problem. I buy all mine from vitamin cottage.  Cheap and fresh. I have started cooking a lot with them daily.

image

Chocolate!  Need I say more? The health benefits are numerous for dark chocolate consumption not to mention an aphrodisiac. Rawr. I love one chocolate bar in particular that is 75% dark chocolate with almonds. Omg, orgasm in your mouth!

image

Eggs, yes please. They fill you up and keep you full. The perfect food really. Steamed, poached, scrambled, boiled,  egg white lovers have never been more placated.

image

Hydrate, hydrate, hydate. Minimum of 60 ounces a day. I hate water. I drink herbal, non caffeinated hot or cold tea. Whatever is not carbonated or caffeinated is considered hydration.  However,  if you drink juice all day the sugars will get you. Sugar is poison,  especially to the aging.

image

image

You are what you eat. Whatever you put in your body gives you fuel. As we age the need for more vitamins is vital.  Eating or juicing is the best form to intake and retain your nutrition. I have been an avid, inconsistent juicer. If that is even a possible combination?  Mostly due to preparation and clean up. I decided I am investing in a vitamixer for this reason. I also have gotten into fasting and cleansing the last 3 years.

image

Fish oils are high in protein, vitamins and minerals. 
Benefits included for:
1. Cancer patients
2. Asthma
3 . depression
4 . cardiovascular disease
5. ADHD
I take DHA fish oil, it is an essential fatty acid for healthy brain function ( I need it, I forget and repeat myself frequently) and visual function. It is an important supplement for pregnant and nursing mothers. It helps brain development in baby before and after birth.

image

Coconut oil is the greatest thing since sliced bread. Much research indicates the numerous health benefits to consuming, cooking with and applying coconut oil topically.  I use it every day and night in replacement of lotion. I don’t seem to burn in the sun as my skin is super moisturized. Sesame oil is also great for skin, teeth and bone health.

image

image

Exercise no matter what it is, is so important for people of all ages. It has obvious physical benefits but also is great for stress, sleep, and sexual function.  The older I get I walk, do yoga, pilates or in line skate. No more running, triathlons, bike rides across states for me. They are epic and fond memories though. I just accept my body needs something else now.

image

Sleep is how our bodies restore themselves. With aging comes stress, kids, life problems and finding rest difficult to get a good night’s sleep. 
My counselor talks about this a lot. If I feel emotionally unstable ask yourself,  ‘ did I sleep enough, eat enough, get the support emotionally for the day?’ Lack of sleep at middle age will leave you feeling like you partied like a rock star without the fun or memories, just the hangover of a shitty night’s sleep.

image

Teeth. Clean them a lot! It matters! Beautiful smile.
I love my dentist!  I have been blessed with no cavities ever. That is probably why.

image

image

image

Spirituality has become vital to me. Believe me when I say; I know how it feels to not feel loved by people or a creator/God.
I am though, no matter how I feel.
This life is too complicated, grey, lonely and depressing for me to think this existance is without a higher power or order to the universe. What I have realised is that I am not in control, no matter how much I want to be. It’s okay, I am not in control. What I am in control of is how I react to what is placed in my life. That alone is plenty.
Forty is great, I feel secure, I feel sexy, I feel accomplished in my career and have tried to be the best mom I could be to my kids at the time and now, I feel hopeful for the future and whatever it holds.

Namaste ♡

Standard

6 thoughts on “This is 40 in the light of reality

Leave a Reply

